About Medicare

    Medicare is the federal health insurance program for people who are 65 or older, certain younger people with disabilities, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a transplant).

    There are different types of Medicare to cover certain medical services:

    Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance)
    Part A covers inpatient hospital visits, skilled nursing facility and hospice care, and some home health care.

    Medicare Part B (Doctor/Medical Insurance)
    Part B covers certain doctors’ and preventive services , outpatient care, and medical supplies.

    Medicare Supplement (Medigap)
    Medigap is a supplemental insurance plan that covers some of Part A and Part B services.

    Medicare Part D (Prescription Drug Insurance)
    Part D adds prescription drug coverage to Original Medicare, some Medicare Cost Plans, some Medicare Private-Fee-for-Service Plans, and Medicare Medical Savings Account Plans. These plans are offered by insurance companies and other private companies approved by Medicare. Medicare Advantage Plans may also offer prescription drug coverage that follows the same rules as Medicare Prescription Drug Plans.

    What Medicare Does NOT Cover
    Generally Medicare does not cover dental care, long-term care, vision care and eyeglasses, and hearing aids.